Strengths Finder 2.0

Strengths Finder

 

This book by Tom Rath is about identifying your strengths and then developing a plan to take advantage of those strengths.

I took the Strengthsfinder test and I was surprised at how well the five themes matched to how I perceive myself. My themes are:

  • Learner
  • Arranger
  • Input
  • Developer
  • Maximizer

I am most definitely a learner as I have always had a great desire to learn and to develop ways to implement what I have learned in order to continuously improve. I normally am reading three books at a time – one business, one history and one nonfiction.

I am also an arranger in that I enjoy organizing the pieces for maximum productivity, but also push to get going once a course of action has been identified. I have excelled at operational analysis over the years and strategy development/implementation due to this theme.

Input is another trait of mine as I am a collector of information. I have files of information on various data that I share with others (Developer theme coming up next). This also shows in my interest in my family history – not just the direct line on both sides, but the various branches within each.

I am somewhat surprised that Developer was not higher on the list. I am known for leadership development and team building. 13 direct reports have gone on to become credit union CEOs. Several others have become members of senior management teams.

As a Maximizer I focus on what I can do and do not dwell on my weaknesses. I spend the majority of my time on my first four themes.

This is an excellent book and process for anyone who is looking to identify and take advantage of their strengths. Needless to say, you must be brutally honest with yourself in taking the test.

Over the course of the next few months I will share more in depth on each of my themes along with the incorporation of Strengths Based Leadership.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Self Improvement, Team Development, Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

