Decisive: How to Make Better Choices in Life and Work

Decisive

 

I am leading a LinkedIn Group discussion on this book by Chip and Dan Heath and thought that I would share the chapter reviews with you on my blog.

Dan and Chip set the stage for why a process is needed for decision making. Did you jump to a conclusion about Clive? I know that I did.

They state that 44% of lawyers would recommend that a young person not pursue a career in law. I wonder how much of that is due to poor decision making on their part or a desire to have less competition as we have more lawyers per capita than any country in the world.

They mention three books as recommended reading – two are on my to-read list (Thinking, Fast and Slow and Nudge). I have read Predictably Irrational and it is a very interesting book.

If you have used the Pro and Con lists, mentioned by Benjamin Franklin, how effective were they? If you generally go with your gut, how often are your choices right/successful (now be honest with yourself, we tend to only remember the times we are right)?

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Leadership, Self Improvement and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Decisive: How to Make Better Choices in Life and Work

  1. There’s a saying that with any decision the best thing to do is the right thing, the next best is the wrong thing and the worst is not to decide. I tend to follow that advice whenever I can. If I can’t tell which of two options is clearly the better of the two, is there really that much to choose between them?

Leave a Reply

